My Future??

So yesterday I started watching the Dance 212 series, which follows 5 different people as they go to college for dance, and I’ve just really been thinking about what I want to do with my future.

But watching these videos is really discouraging. All of these people have been dancing since they were little kids and they’re all really good. I feel like I will never measure up. My late start has been such a discouraging factor for me. Dancers have such a short career. I feel like I just don’t have enough time to get were I need to be to be professional.

I’m still not sure I want to pursue dance as a career though.

Because ever since 9th grade it has been my dream and my goal to go to SCAD, but SCAD doesn’t offer a dance program. And I’ve always originally wanted to pursue graphic design, dancing never really seemed like an option. Do I really want to give up the security of a graphic design job for the dog eat dog world of dance?? Do I want to give up my SCAD dream?? I don’t know.

I know it’s possible for me to be a successful dancer, because there are other dancers who have done it (like Misty Copeland, Martha Graham, and Holley Farmer to name a few), but the question is, can I do it?? I know my parents will support me in whatever avenue I choose, but I know they would much rather me choose the more practical option of graphic design.

Again, I can’t really know for sure dance is what I want to do with my until after this summer, when I’ll get a taste of dancing everyday like you would as a professional.

But the next question is….if I do decide to dance for my career….where do I go next?? What school or conservatory?? Will I even be able to get in?? I’ve looked at the pre-professional program offered by the Atlanta Ballet but really….I don’t know if I’m even good enough to get into that. :/

There are just so many unknowns with this. It’s all so very confusing. And I hate the feeling that I have to decide NOW. I wish I had more time. But the clock is ticking, and time is something I don’t have.

Leave a Reply

