SCAD + dance = possible??

So as I’ve said, it was originally my dream to attend SCAD (Savannah College of Art & Design) and get a degree in graphic design. The only problem with that, is if I went to SCAD, I would most likely have to quit dance.

But there may be hope.

Luckily SCAD offers really good online courses in the fields of my choice (graphic design & advertising). So maybe…I’ll be able to pursue my dance dream while still getting an awesome education.

I’m just not sure how much it costs. Is it the same as on campus tuition, is it cheaper?? Will I be able to motivate myself to work on my courses while managing the rest of my life?? I don’t know.

Honestly, what I decide all comes down to how this summer, and year, goes. I intend to talk to the artistic director of my ballet studio closer to graduation and see what his thoughts are on my situation.

It does me no use to be stressing out and worrying about this so much now. I need to focus on the present and worry about this when graduation is closer. Let’s just make it through my senior year of high school first. :)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Annaliza
    May 30, 2010 @ 21:47:04

    Hey, this popped up in my news feed and I just wanted to give you my personal opinion on this situation.

    I was definitely in the same boat as you (as far as wanting to attend SCAD goes). However, it IS a ton of money. too much in fact. I go to Armstrong which is in Savannah and quite a few SCAD students quit and go there and I always ask why (because even though I was going to Armstrong I was still determined to transfer to SCAD). They said it costs too much money and was not worth it. I know everyone is different but unless you are rich (which I have no idea, I’m just assuming for the average college kid), you will be spending years after college paying off debt instead of living your life. I’m so stubborn and I didn’t care about that and said “oh it’s fine, it’s worth it” but it took me a while to realize that it’s the truth. Actually, there is two former SCAD kids in my class right now and they say the same thing and agree it’s a waste of money.

    As far as graphic design goes, I’d say Georgia Southern, UGA or Georgia State. I am a graphic design major and I really don’t mind my school and don’t plan on transferring, but being in the Atlanta area is always nice because of intern opportunity right next door. Southern is a really good place for graphic designers, that’s where my professor studied and she’s amazing. UGA has a nice arts program and good graphic design course as well.

    I don’t think it would be much cheaper online, but I could be wrong. With the quarter system I think it would be difficult to do much outside of school (as far as dance goes) because if you are doing 3 studio classes crunched into a few weeks it’s a big workload. However, everyone is different and some people can handle the pressure.

    like you said, it is pretty early but it’s good you’re thinking about it! Just wanted to let you know what I’ve learned and possibly save you from being in debt! (all 4 years in a public college is less than 1 year a SCAD…that’s so crazy).

    anyways, good luck and hope you figure everything out!

    Reply

    • emilleejoyce
      May 30, 2010 @ 23:17:41

      yes. i am trying to minimize my college debt as much as possible. But everything I’ve heard and seen on the campus has made me think that the money is worth it. An honestly, it’s about the same price as the college my sister went to so paying that much wouldn’t be a real shocker or anything (but yes, she is incredibly in debt). I’m thinking that the online course would be slightly cheaper if only because you’re not having to pay for room and board.

      I do worry about the difficulty of the online program though. I’ve heard its super hard. I talked to my parents about it but its still all up in the air. They don’t think I would ever be able to get my degree online – that it would take too long.

      I really don’t know what I’m going to do because I absolutely loathe the idea of having to start over at a new ballet studio (which may or may not be as high a quality as the one I’m at now) but I also loathe the idea of staying here in my hometown. I looked at the (very cheap) local college….but they just dont offer the courses I’m looking for.

      So I don’t know. But thanks for your input. :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

