The Joffery Ballet School?!?

Well…I’ve been looking a summer intensives for next year and I found out that the Joffery Ballet School has southern summer intensive right here in Georgia!!

You know – I think if I worked really hard this year (especially on pointe), I would be able to make it.

For a video submission, you have to film a “short technical demonstration at the barre or center. The student must include plies, tendues, degages (from fifth position, both straight and with plie), ronde de jambe, passé developpe en croix, grand battements, and balances on one leg.” And I can do all that stuff. You also have to include a 1-2 minute classical variation en pointe – which is what I would need major work on.

But that’s doable in a year, right?? I’m 17. My bones have already done all their major growing – so I don’t have to worry about screwing them up. I also go to the gym 2 – 3 times a week. I’m strong enough, and getting stronger everyday.

Again, like everything I’m dreaming up right now, I’ll have to wait and talk to my studio director about it.

But I know I can do it – I just need someone to give me the chance.

The way I see it is, what’s the point of dreaming if you’re not gonna dream big?? I might as well train like I’m trying to get in to ABT or NYCB, even though I probably never actually will.

“Your attitude, not your aptitude, determines your altitude.” – Zig Ziglar

Leave a Reply

