My First Yoga Class

So this week has been a week for firsts. Today I went to my first yoga class. It was definitely challenging, but in a different way from pilates.

My weakest muscles are in my thighs and arms, so of course those were the main muscles we used. We did all these warrior poses (fancy lunges) and held them. Ow!! My thighs were fatiguing and shaking – it was horrible.

But I survived.

One thing that bothered me about yoga was all the stretching we did. I have nothing against stretching, but it’s just…it takes me like an hour of serious exercise before I can stretch comfortably….so the little sun salutation warm up we did, did not cut it at all.

I’m sure I’ll get used to it and get more stretchy, but it was just hard tonight. I’d already had a stretch class today instead of a ballet class (fun fun) so more stretching just really didn’t help. By the end my muscles were starting to tense up and stretching was getting uncomfortable.

Oh well. I still intend to go back. The regular teacher wasn’t even there. I’d at least like to see who the regular teacher is.

I saw a lady there I recognized from my pilates class on Monday. All in all, I’m glad I went. I was nervous about going because I didn’t know anybody, but it wasn’t a big deal. It was worth going.

But again, like pilates, I can see how yoga is beneficial to a dancer. Yoga is all about proper alignment, balance, and breath. All important things for a dancer. I can see it really helping me in the long run.

But we’ll just see how I’m feeling tomorrow. Tuesday after pilates, I was hurting bad!! My whole abdomen hurt. My ribs felt like they were bruised…so we’ll see how I feel tomorrow.

I’m planning on going to pilates and yoga next week so…hooray for new experiences, getting stronger, and good classes!!

Leave a Reply

