Theater Week

So…theater week starts next Tuesday!! Talk about crazy. I can’t believe it’s almost time for my first performance!!

I still haven’t learned one of my parts, but the guy in charge said he’d teach it to me Saturday. He better!! I’m going to hold him to it!!

They also decided to put flowers in the finale of velveteen. I’m proud of myself at how fast I learned it (though it is an easy part). Now I’m basically dancing in the whole ballet. That’s exciting. I love stage time!! Haha.

And we’re doing school performances this year. So that means, I’ll be doing 4 performances of the velveteen rabbit in 2 days. Crazy!!

I’m really excited after this is over to start the nutcracker though. Since I got promoted and all that, I’m very curious to see what part I’ll get. I hope it’s something good, maybe even on pointe?? I’m still not great, but I’m getting better!!

And back to my previous post – “Conflicted” – I don’t know why I get like that sometimes. Some days I’m okay with not being a pro and others I’m not. It’s back and forth, back and forth.

Like right now, I’m looking forward to being a normal college student who does ballet for fun. Honestly, I don’t know if I have the stamina to be a pro dancer. I get tired with just the 8 hours of dance I’m doing a week!!

But in terms of being a pro dancer, i think this quote by Robert Brault sums it up quite well: “How do you achieve success? Well, for one thing, you don’t define it before you achieve it.” I think I need to just stop worrying about planning out my “success” and everything right now. I think I just need to go with the flow and see where life takes me.

But either way I’ll be glad to move out and go to a new city. :D Especially a city as big as Columbus. Wow!!

Anyways, I’m glad we’ve got this labor day holiday coming up. I’ve got some school work and sleep that I need to catch up on!! :P

Oh and might I add that I finally got up the courage to go to juniors class this past week. It was definitely more challenging than my regular class, but it wasn’t anything I couldn’t handle. There are a lot more people who take it, and a lot of them are closer to my age. I still haven’t decided if I’m going to take it once or twice a week though.

But yeah, life is moving right along, I’m very busy!!

Leave a Reply

