Parsons Dance Master Class

I should’ve saved my money and my gas and just gone to regular ballet last night.

Let’s go through all the reasons why I was absolutely miserable at this master class:
1.) Everybody was from Davidson. I knew no one.
2.) There were only like 3 white people in the class.
3.) Much to my surprise, it was a contemporary dance class. We did almost no ballet.

I was the only person in ballet attire. You know, pink tights, leotard, ballet slippers. Everybody else was barefoot, in shirts (or sports bras) and short shorts. I was so out of place.

I really don’t think I gained anything useful from this class.

It’s my fault. I should’ve found out more information about the class before I signed up. I thought we were going to be doing ballet. I know NOTHING about contemporary dance. It was painfully obvious I didn’t know what I was doing.

I’m annoyed that I missed ballet and pointe last night for this class. I’m annoyed that I had to pay $20 for this class. And I’m annoyed that I had to drive 30 minutes away to downtown to attend this class.

Like I said, I should’ve gone to regular ballet.

I just have to get over this and call it a learning experience. What did I learn?? I learned that I don’t like contemporary. I learned to ask more questions before signing up for something. I learned that I really just need to focus on ballet now.

So last night pretty much sucked. I was on the verge of tears the entire class and I left as fast as I could after it was over.

Whoop de doo.

But on another more positive note, I have been practicing my chinese (side) splits for the past week and have started to notice some improvement, which is really encouraging. I really want to get my side splits, because then, getting my front splits will be much easier.

Also, last night I started using my resistabands on my feet to help get them stronger for pointe. Roll ups are killing me still and I really want to improve. Hopefully, things will get easier as I get stronger.

I’ve still got a ways to go, but if I stay consistent, I should be there in no time. :)

Leave a Reply

