Ballet in College

So all along, I have been planning on dancing in college. Even if I didn’t major in it in college, I was planning on continuing my education. But now I’m not so sure.

I mean, when I go off to college, it’s going to be a whole new experience. Who knows how busy I’ll be??

And recently I’ve got this opera bug in me, and if I were to major in that, or any kind of music, I definitely wouldn’t have time for ballet.

Part of me feels like there’s no point in continuing with ballet, because a professional career is unlikely. But the other part of me doesn’t want to quit until I feel I’ve become proficient in ballet (like learning how to partner and all that).

I just don’t know.

My parents say this opera bug is a passing phase, but who knows?? I can never make up my mind about anything. I just like performing, and in opera you don’t have to start training as early as you do in ballet. I still have time. But again, who knows??

I’m also thinking from the practical side. If I dance where I want to in college (BalletMet), it could cost up to $3,000 a year!! Add that on to college funds, and you’ve got some serious debt. Maybe that money could be spent in a better way??

I don’t know.

I would like to start taking voice lessons now, but I don’t know if my parents would let me, what with all the financial and time constraints ballet has put on me.

I just have a lot to think about between now and college.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Latest ballet lessons news – Ballet in College « The Belated Ballerina

Leave a Reply

