Continuing Ballet??

I’m still really unsure whether or not I should continue ballet after high school.

I mean, I was thinking I shouldn’t tonight. Why should I continue to subject myself to this superficial world?? What’s the point if I’m not going to do this for a career?? I get tired of having to worry about my flexibility and how I look in a leotard. I get tired of wearing the leotard period.

But i want to keep going because I’m committed and i want to follow through. And then tonight at ballet, we did a grand allegro and it was so much fun. I was so proud of myself because I managed to do a saut de basque correctly the first time I tried. And I want to keep doing ballet so I can keep learning these things and keep feeling proud of myself.

So what do I do?? It sure seems like ballet has more negatives than positives. It’s expense and time consuming. And it’s emotionally taxing. But I like doing it. And that reason seems to outweigh all the others.

Maybe I should just not plan on doing it in college first?? So I don’t have to worry about it while I’m getting adjusted to college. It’s a big change.

I want to try different sports and activities and stuff, and I can’t do that if all my time is taken up by ballet.

What will I do??

. . . . .

Little Update: I was talking to my mom and she thinks it would be a bad idea to continue with ballet in college, at least at first. She thinks I should spend my time trying to make friends and get connected first.

Leave a Reply

