This is completely unrelated to ballet.

So I don’t know if you remember a while back I mentioned having an opera bug. Well, now I have a boxing bug.

My mom seemed really supportive of my desire to sing but I don’t know how much I really want to do it. I would have to go to lessons and practice, and well….I don’t know how bad I want to sing. I’m pretty content belting out lyrics in my car right now.

And boxing, we’ll see how long this bug lasts. I’ve always loved fighting sports but I wouldn’t be able to even seriously contemplate boxing until ballet is over this year. Let’s see if this desire lasts that long. I just like the idea of being a strong tough woman, who can beat people up. ^_^

What can I say?? I’m just kind of tired of ballet right now. I’m at the studio 5 days a week and I have no life. I kind of want to experience other extracurricular activities besides ballet. And it sucks because unlike the other girls at ballet, it’s not much of a social event for me.

I don’t know. My guy friends seem supportive of my desire to box. Haha. But I still have to decide what to do with this singing, so I can give my mom an answer about lessons. I don’t know.

Just some thoughts in my head right now.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. classicalballetteacher
    Nov 03, 2010 @ 00:52:26

    You would be shocked at how much martial arts and dance have in common. It could be just the thing to satisfy the movement style that your body craves and the butt-kicking abilities that you desire! I could totally see you moving out of dance and into martial arts but not necessarily straight into boxing.

    I talked to my husband, who trained seriously in wrestling, boxing and multiple martial arts. He said that jeet kune do or kickboxing would be good high-impact starter options for you. I think going straight into boxing would be too difference from dance, and the options above would give you an opportunity to build off of the skills you’ve already trained in ballet (flexibility, for example).

    But don’t kid yourself – even using this strategy, you will have A LOT to learn in whatever new sport you choose! Be honest with yourself about whether you are going to end up quitting a new sport if/when you run into the frustrations you are experiencing now in dance, like being behind others your age.

    Reply

    • emilleejoyce
      Nov 03, 2010 @ 15:26:15

      I’m not thinking of quitting dance because of the frustrations I’ve been having so to speak. I’m just getting tired of it. Im tired of the superficiality of it and half my success being determined by my genes. I mean, I’m sure my “frustrations” are also contributing. But not as much as one might think.

      But the whole point of doing boxing would be to do something completely different from dance. I don’t want to quit dance just to pick up something similar. I want to experience both ends of the spectrum.

      Besides, I’ve never had much interest in martial arts. They’ve just never appealed to me. The whole structure of them and everything is just not something I think I’d like. I could do kickboxing though.

      And I know boxing would take just as much if not more work than dance. I’ve got a while to think on it before I can even think about beginning to box.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

