I’m back…and better!! :)

So I realize it’s been a long time since I last posted. Life just got busy and I kind of stopped caring whether or not I updated this blog. Also, I was sort of starting to resent ballet…but that’s all over now.

So here’s an update:

We just finished with the Roar of Love about 2 weeks ago. It was pretty good I think. I mean, I still wish I had cooler parts but I’m over that. It was fun. I like performing. I was hoping casting for Mayfest (our next performance) might make up for my lack of “cool” parts in Roar of Love, but it doesn’t appear so.

One of the male dancers is choreographing a dance, and that promises a pretty good part for me. I feel like he knows my dancing better than our director. (I don’t care what he says, I still don’t think you can tell someone’s “talent” after watching them dance like 5 times). Anyways, I heard there was supposed to be a dance for seniors in high school but it turns out to be for the seniors in high school who are also seniors in the company. Basically, they’re all best friends so they get to do a dance together and who gets left out?? You guessed it. Me.

Anyways…I have to do the first scene (the nursery scene) from the Velveteen Rabbit again. God I hated that ballet!! Not so much because of the ballet itself but because the costume does not fit!! My boobs are busting (bursting??) out the entire time!! Not to mention the “dancing” in the nursery scene…doesn’t involve much dancing.

Oh well. I’m trying not to focus on it too much. I have bigger and better things on my mind!!

I have decided to do ballet this summer. After Roar I decided to use the remaining time I have before college to learn and improve as much in ballet as possible.

And I’ve gotten the dance major/professional dance bug back in my system – but not for ballet!! For modern!! I have decided that while in college, I’ll take some non-major dance classes in modern to see how I like it, and if I do, I’ll audition for the dance program later in the year. I really think I have a chance of getting in. Plus the things that are holding me back from becoming a professional in ballet, aren’t as much of an issue in modern dance.

I have also decided to really devote myself to flexibility and getting my splits because I believe it will help me improve my dance and give me a better shot at getting in the dance program at OSU. In fact, today I bought a foam roller which is supposed to be good for deep tissue massage, which is supposed to help increase flexibility.

Its liberating to know that I am the master of my destiny and my age or body or whatever doesn’t have to hold me back. I’ve struggled to “get over” what my director told me at the beginning of the year about my talent and body. But now I’ve decided that I just won’t listen to him. His perspective on my talent and my body doesn’t have to hold me back anymore.

Also, for my birthday in June, I asked for a new, fun leotard!! It’s sort of sporty in olive and orange. I really like it. I also asked for some booty shorts to go over my current leotard. I hate the way it bunches at my butt and gives me what I term, the “wet diaper” look. Booty shorts will fix all that.

My head is abuzz with exciting things about dance. I can’t wait to see what the future holds!!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. classicalballetteacher
    Apr 12, 2011 @ 15:04:54

    I am so happy for you and very impressed! Modern could be a VERY good alternative path for you. Once you get into the freedom of movement, there are so many directions you can take it. There are so many distinct styles, and new, exciting ones are being created all the time. Regular ballet class is an important part of training for a modern dancer, so you’ll find that pursuit will probably keep ballet central in your life.

    And good job on the roller – those things are killer when done right, but SO good for the muscles.

    Reply

  2. Deb
    May 24, 2011 @ 18:09:29

    Here’s some tips on stretching that you might find helpful :)
    http://www.danceinforma.com/USA_magazine/2011/01/02/safe-stretching/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

