Ballet in College

I have a decision to make. Ballet is over for the year and I won’t be able to attend summer classes. I need to decide whether I want to continue doing ballet in college.

I know I want to dance in college, I just have to decide what kind of dance to do. I can’t do every kind of dance out there because of time. There’s so many things I want to do and try while in college. I don’t want dance to take up my entire life, otherwise I might start to resent it again. So I need to decide how important ballet is to me.

And if I decide to pursue ballet, I need to decide if I want to continue pointe work. This is where I’m really torn. I hate the pain and frustration pointe causes me but I want to be able to glide around on pointe so badly. I want to be able to dance like a professional!! Maybe not that good…but I want to be as good as the senior girls at my ballet studio.

But there’s also the issue of money. Pointe shoes are expensive and they don’t last long. That’s a problem for a broke college student. I’m also assuming the non-major dance classes OSU offers don’t have an extra fee attached to them.

I also worry about the quality of non-major classes they have at OSU. While they have different levels, I wonder if it will be as rigorous as I want. I can’t afford to go to a private studio so I’ll have to take what I can get. And I wonder if, after I graduate, I will be able to find a studio that offers adult classes at the level I want or if I will again be relegated into taking classes with younger people.

There’s so many unknowns right now. I’m kind of glad for the break from ballet because it will give me time to step back and think about what I want to do with ballet. It’s hard to think rationally when you’re dancing every week.

I guess the only way to really know is to just wait and see what college is like when I get there. Then I’ll be able to figure out my time issues and whatnot. I’m so ready to go to college and experience everything!! I just can’t imagine what it will be like.

Leave a Reply

