Misty Copeland & Competitions

I know I’ve already written a post about this, but I want to reiterate how much I love Misty Copeland.

Not only did she start ballet at 13 and then go on to dance with a major company, she’s also inspiring because her body doesn’t fit the typical ballet mold.

I get so self conscious and discouraged when I see all these pictures of super thin, tall ballerinas. I’m not overweight by any means, but I’m not “ballet-thin.” it also amazes me (and makes me a little jealous) when I see these super thin ballerinas doing these amazing feats, and they look like they have no muscle on their body. I don’t know how that’s possible.

Like I said, I’m not fat by any means, but I still look like a woman. I don’t fit the prepubescent boy look that seems to be so desirable in ballet. And while right now, my muscles aren’t very developed because I’m a little out of shape, they have the potential to become large. I’m not the bulky athletic body type, but when I exercise, things just start popping out. Haha.

Anyways, I like to think of Misty Copeland as the professional version of me. Like, if I became a professional dancer – I’d look like her. Basically, I’m trying to say she inspires me because she has about the same body type as me and still manages to be successful in the ballet world and look graceful on pointe.

I don’t want to be a professional ballerina any more, but I still want to learn to dance like one. Misty Copeland gives me hope that I one day will. I don’t have to let my non-ballet body hold me back (which I feel like I let it do sometimes).

Also, I’ve always had a dream of one day competing in some sort of ballet competition. But unfortunately, because my age to skill level ratio is so off, that didn’t seem like it could ever be a reality. But I think I may have found a competition that will allow that dream to come true.

It’s called the Hall of Fame: Dance Challenge. There are lots of videos of it on YouTube, and so I decided to look it up.

If I’m understanding the rules correctly, it looks like you’re categorized by two things: your age and skill level. But they are separate, so it would make it possible for me to compete. For example, you have the 20 & up category called pro-am, but then at the regional competitions, you have 3 skill levels (if I am remembering correctly). For example, the rookie category is for people who take less than 3 hours of class per week and have little competition experience.

Because of the way they categorize things, I think I’d be able to compete!! I don’t really want to win anything, I just want the experience of being the only person on stage, dancing for a bunch of judges.

It would be several years before I’d be ready to compete, but just the idea of it is exciting for me. I love to be in the spotlight and competing would let me be do that, it only for a minute or two.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Emily
    May 26, 2011 @ 20:45:19

    I hope your dream comes true for you

    Reply

Leave a Reply

