Trouble Committing

I know all of my posts lately have been about flexibility, but I’m not dancing currently, so it’s the main thing on my mind.

After catching up on last Wednesday’s episode of So You Think You Can Dance, I’m feeling sort of down about my flexibility. Mainly, I’m frustrated with myself for skipping stretching today and using college as an excuse. I’ve just been having so much trouble committing to my flexibility routine and doing it everyday, or at least doing it consistently.

My main obstacle to commitment is my pure dislike of stretching, and the amount of time it takes. I have to warm up before I can stretch and that involves using a foam roller. If you know anything about foam rollers, you know they’re not fun and they hurt – though actually I find the foam roller to be tougher on my wrists and arms that are supporting my body weight than the muscles I’m actually rolling on!! But after I warm up, I have to do a series of stretches to get my muscles limber enough to go into the splits. It’s a very time consuming and un-fun process. This whole routine takes me about an hour and a half.

I know if I commit to this, I can achieve the splits, but the desire has yet to overcome the aversion I have towards it. It’s just difficult to keep feeling enthusiastic about something like this where you don’t see immediate progress. And I’m such an impatient person!! It makes things more difficult.

Tomorrow I will definitely stretch. Today is lost, but I can stretch tomorrow. My schedule this week is a little wonky due to my birthday being on thursday so….consistency will have to come another week. But I just need to find a way to motivate myself. This is a problem I’ve always had. I’m good at starting things and not so good at finishing them. I just have to keep the end goal in mind and remember how badly I want this – that should be a good enough motivator.

Wish me luck!!

Leave a Reply

