A Changing Perspective on Dance

I don’t know if you could tell from my quickie blog post last night/this morning, but I’ve started to feel a little differently about dance.

As I’ve been preparing for orientation, I’ve started to feel that excitement for my major that caused me to choose it in the first place and dance has started to seem…less important. Reading the course descriptions of the potential classes I will take has made me so excited that I’ve started to mind less if I get to take dance classes or not. Not to mention there are so many things I want to do in college, I don’t know how dance will fit into that agenda.

Also, this is some news I have yet to share. I’m in the International Affairs Scholars program, so I’ll be traveling this year. First to Toronto, Canada and then to some unknown mystery place (rumors have been circulating that it’s somewhere in France). But with both of those trips planned, it might be difficult to fit dance into that schedule. And don’t forget about money!! These trips aren’t incredibly cheap and neither is dance – there has to be a compromise somewhere.

But I’m still going to ask about non-major dance classes when I schedule at orientation. I would still really lovely to try my hand at modern – I think it would be a perfect fit for me. But if I’m able to take non-major classes, I’d have to decide what and how much dance I’d want to take. I know I want to take modern but I’m also interested in hip hop, maybe even possibly jazz. But I worry all those dance classes might overwhelm me. Plus, OSU has a dance group that does bhangra, which is a type of Indian dance. It’s really awesome. Check Out this amazing Bhangra group on Youtube!!

As you can see, I’ve got lots of potential plans involving dance and I just don’t know which path would be better. But mainly, I’ve been feeling happier about my major choice. For a while there I was feeling kind of down because I was worried I had picked the wrong major or that I wasn’t going to be happy. But like I said last night, regardless of what I choose, dance will always be a huge part of my life and I can be certain that I will keep up with this blog.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pointe-shoe-brands
    Jun 20, 2011 @ 11:03:21

    Your journey and struggles are certainly inspirational for those who follow your blog. When I was your age, I had no idea of any future plans for dance or anything else. Traveling overseas sounds exciting. A possible trip to France….that would be a dream!

    Reply

  2. emilleejoyce
    Jun 20, 2011 @ 12:34:49

    Thanks!!
    And its crazy the pressure you’re put under nowadays to know what you plan to do for the rest of your life at so young an age. It’s definitely been a struggle to figure out my future life.
    But I am super excited about traveling, wherever it may be that we’re going!! That’s one thing that’s making me super anxious to start college!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

