Cold Stretching is meh.

So I’ve been trying my cold stretching routine for a couple of days now, and while I have been more consistent and I think I’m seeing improvement, I’m not so sure this is a good idea.

I’ve started to feel sore, which according to the Internet, means I’m overstretching and causing damage to my muscles. But the only problem is, I don’t feel like I’m overstretching. I don’t feel pain when I stretch. My muscles do tend to spasm, but that’s it.

So either I am causing injury by overstretching, or my muscles just haven’t adjusted to the frequency of my stretching ( 2x a day). Of course it’s probably better to be on the safe side with this, so I’ll probably make some adjustments to my stretching routine.

I think I may be going into “hard” stretches too quickly, so I’ll probably try and integrate more gentle stretches. I’ll also probably add a tiny warm up. Something like grand battements, that’ll stretch my muscles but also warm them up a little.

I also need to drink more water. It’s common sense that the more hydrated you are, the more flexible you’ll be. With it being the summer, I need to drink more water anyways. I’m normally pretty hydrated during the school year, but during the summer my schedule is all weird and my meals get screwed up. I’m also thinking about adding some sort of protein shake to my diet. I’m hoping a little extra protein might help my muscles repair themselves. Does anybody know how those Ensure protein drinks taste?? They have a lot of protein and a little bit of sugar, which is hard to find nowadays.

I don’t know if this will help or if this soreness is just something I need to adjust to. I never had problems with soreness doing my old routine, but I also only did it like once a week.

So I’ll see what I can do. I’m trying to listen to my body to make sure I don’t injure myself, but it’s hard to listen if I don’t know what my body is saying.

Leave a Reply

