MSM & Gelatin

As I stated earlier, flexibility has basically become an obsession with me, and I am willing to try anything to help improve my flexibility. And so I have decided to try a “miracle” vitamin touted all over the internet as being great, not only for flexibility, but for your skin, hair, and nails as well. It’s MSM, or methylsulfonylmethane, an organic form of sulfur your body needs to help regenerate tissue. My mom thinks these vitamins are a waste of money, but in my eyes – anything that helps my flexibility is worth it.

The recommended dosage is apparently anywhere from 3 – 5 grams. The capsules I bought are 1000 milligrams = 1 gram. So in reality I need to be taking 3 capsules a day, but I’m going to start out small – just 1 a day. And after a week, I’ll increase to 2 a day and so on. I also need to sign up for a CVS card, so I can get these vitamins discounted since the amount I bought won’t last long at that rate.

Another benefit of MSM, is that it’s supposed to help speed up healing – which is great for me since I kind of messed up my hamstrings. I did some light stretching today and they still felt kind of sucky afterwards. I’m cutting my stretching down to once a day, and hopefully with the help of this vitamin, I’ll heal quickly.

I also read, while less well known, that gelatin is supposed to be very good for flexibility…so I bought some jello. I can’t say I’ve ever been a huge fan of jello – it’s a texture thing I guess. But now, they’ve come out with a lot of different flavors I’ve never tried before, so I’m willing to give jello a shot. Not to mention, they now make a 0 sugar, 10 calorie kind. Since I’m also constantly on a quest to reduce my sugar intake, this is good.

I don’t know if these vitamins will help. One of the main things that I know will help is just getting back to eating healthy. Lately I’ve gotten so lazy with my eating habits and I’m back to stuffing my face with junk. But hopefully these things will help. That’s what I’m praying anyways. I’m willing to try anything once, so let’s see what happens.

Leave a Reply

