Working What You Got

Today I received my issue of Pointe Magazine and flipping through it seeing all the wonderfully flexible dancers made me think “man, I need to get back to stretching!” (I’ve kind of been taking a break here in the last week.)

But then I thought, why do I focus on my lack of flexibility so much?? Why don’t I instead, focus on improving my natural abilities?? Since I’m not very flexible, I tend to be stronger. I think I need to face the fact that I’m never going to be one of these super hyper-mobile dancers. I need to do my best with what I already have.

Of course, I’m not totally dismissing flexibility. Even though super flexible people tend to be more prone to injuries, so do super tight people. And there’s always room for improvement. Even if I never get into the splits, I can still improve my flexibility – even if it’s only by a small amount.

And not having to worry about “oh my gosh I need to be more flexible or my dancing will never be good” removes the pressure from me. Since my extensions won’t be as high, I should focus more on improving my turns and jumps. And I definitely need work on improving my stage presence and performing ability.

Yeah super high extensions and bendy body parts are attention grabbers, but they’re not the only thing that make people want to watch someone dance. You’ve got to have the entire package, and if you’re lacking in one area, then make up for it in another. It’s as simple as that.

Leave a Reply

