Dancing at OSU

I really need to decide what I’m going to do about majoring in dance at OSU. The application for the 2012-2013 school year is up. Should I go ahead and start applying?? Should I wait and see if I like my modern class??

I was actually watching some videos on the dance department’s website. One of the students had only been dancing for 3 years before she auditioned for OSU!! That gives me hope. But I also hope it doesn’t mean it was a bad decision for me to wait a year. Transfer students aren’t given the same priority as incoming freshmen. Hm…I still need to talk to my parents about all this.

I honestly don’t think I’ll be happy with myself unless I do this (audition I mean). Otherwise I’ll always have the regret of “what if?”

Right now though, I need to figure out how I can integrate as much dance as possible into my freshmen year without spending lots of money. I already have my modern class. I’m wondering if I can add on another dance class to my schedule before classes start (there’s a 4 day period between move-in day and first day of classes.) OSU has several dance clubs but I don’t know if any of them will fit my needs.

I honestly need to stop thinking!! Haha. I’m going to wind up way overanalyzing all of this – but it never hurts to have a plan!! If only this were easier…

My parents keep telling me not to worry about money, but seriously, money is the one thing that’s keeping me from fully pursuing this. I don’t know what’s worse: being poor and saddled with debt but happy because I’m dancing or making more money, still possibly happy, with potentially less debt.

I suppose I just need to trust that this will all work itself out, and not worry about the future or the money. I’m a big believer in the idea that if it’s meant to be, it will find a way.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Pointe-shoe-brands
    Aug 13, 2011 @ 13:39:05

    Your comment about thinking and analyzing things really hits home with me as I had the same habit when I was a teen and young adult….I used to drive myself nuts with the “what ifs” of every decision I made.

    Getting older helps in this respect. When I think of the money I spent on various courses in my past it becomes very funny. Here is some of the “career” stuff I did in the past:

    $ Ballet and pointe classes-Am I a dancer? nooooooo (age 10-18)
    $ Pre-school teacher-Am I a teacher? nooooo (age 19)
    $ Nurses aide-burned me out (age 25)
    $ Computer programming- a big flop! ( age 30)
    $ Nursing-no money to finish classes (age 35-40)
    $ Vet office assistant- a big flop (age 49)
    $Word processing-flop! (age 50)

    I am 51 years old and still wondering what I want to be when I grow up….maybe a professional blog reader?

    I guess as we get older we realize that our decisions are never cast in stone and we can always go in another direction, unless, of course, we are a prison inmate somewhere. :( It would be nice to have all that money back, though…..

    It can take a lot of trial and error to find our true calling in life, I am still looking for mine…….. I look forward to your next post :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

