Bettering Yourself

So thanks to the almighty stumbleupon, I discovered some very interesting articles about self-improvement.

Well the first article I found was about self-compassion (Why Self-Compassion Trumps Self-Esteem), and I found it to be very interesting. Nowadays, everything has become focused on improving kids’ self-esteem and making sure we don’t damage kids’ self esteem. Well, this article shows that self esteem isn’t what’s important, it’s self compassion. The author of the article defines self compassion as “First, it requires self-kindness, that we be gentle and understanding with ourselves rather than harshly critical and judgmental. Second, it requires recognition of our common humanity, feeling connected with others in the experience of life rather than feeling isolated and alienated by our suffering. Third, it requires mindfulness—that we hold our experience in balanced awareness, rather than ignoring our pain or exaggerating it.”

After reading this article, I’d say I’m on my way to developing self compassion, but I definitely still have things to work on. I mainly struggle with the second and third steps. I have problems with feeling connected to other people, and not isolating myself. I tend to be a whiner and I sometimes forget that my problems aren’t all that big or bad. But that also leads me to the next article I found, Who Do You Want to Be? Create a Character Study for Your Ideal Self.

This one I found very enlightening and inspiring. There are definitely things I want to improve on in my life, about myself. I want to be less judgmental towards different people. I want to stop letting little things annoy or stress me out. I want to meditate. I want to be healthier.

Of course, I’m only a teenager, so I have my whole lifetime to work on these things but it’s always better to start instilling good habits early. But I seriously recommend searching around on that last site. I found some other really good motivational and informative articles on there.

But since I’m so busy talking about improving yourself and making yourself a better person in the future, I have been thinking about the future as well (duh, isn’t that ALL I think about?) I’ve been thinking about my childhood dream of being an entrepreneur. Long before I ever even dreamed of being a dancer, I’ve wanted to own my own business. I have no idea what that business would be – but it’s still a dream I’ve had.

Of course only time will tell what the future brings. Right now my main focus is dorm decorating. I don’t think I mentioned in my last blog post that I know my roommate and room number now. Which means I also know my floor plan. I have bunk beds, unfortunately. But luckily, there are 2 closets. They’re small closets, but closets nonetheless. Basically all we’ve bought now is my bedding. I kinds feel like that’s all I need to buy right now. I haven’t had much contact with my roommate, so we haven’t planned out who’s bringing what.

It would be a lot easier to decorate if I didn’t have to worry about another person’s comfort. But that’s college life for you.

Leave a Reply

