Becoming an Expert

I’ve always wanted to become an expert as something, to devote myself fully to something until I became the best. I just don’t know what that something would be.

I know, what about ballet & dance?? That’s the first thing that pops into my mind too. I love ballet and the discipline it requires, but because I started so late, I don’t know if I could ever dance on pointe the way professionals do. And I’d never consider myself an expert at ballet until I learned to dance on pointe. When I started pointe, my foot bones were already fused, so I don’t know if I’d ever be able to dance on pointe relatively pain-free (because my feet are definitely not suited for pointe work naturally). Of course foot bones and some pain are no reason to give up on a dream, but it’s just a thought.

What other things could I devote myself to?? I want to become good at something athletic. I’ve never been particularly gifted in the athletics department, so I’ve always been attracted to the idea of becoming proficient at something athletic. However team sports don’t appeal to me. I like to do things by myself so I can progress at my own pace. That doesn’t leave many things. I’ve considered taking up running, or perhaps martial arts. Maybe yoga??

Anyways, I still really love dance, don’t get that part wrong. I’m just trying out different scenarios in my head. Thinking out loud. Some things (like running or yoga) could go hand in hand with dance. I’ve just always wanted to be able to do something that could wow my friends (like dancing on pointe). Oh who knows?? I’d never give up dance if I have to. And I might still finish learning how to dance on pointe, even if it hurts my feet.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. johnnathanielfernando
    Aug 19, 2011 @ 00:34:31

    that’s the spirit! keep working on it and for sure you’ll eventually reach the point where you’ll be highly-regarded as a good dancer. i wish you luck and thanks for posting!

    Reply

  2. emilleejoyce
    Aug 19, 2011 @ 00:49:21

    Thanks so much for your encouragement!!

    Reply

  3. Elyot
    Sep 12, 2011 @ 00:59:33

    I like your attitude of being devout to something you love. Maybe that’s the secret of the most successful lives. Hope you embody all the beauties of ballet.

    Reply

  4. emilleejoyce
    Sep 12, 2011 @ 01:54:20

    Thanks!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

