Harmonica!!

If you remember, a while back I posted something about how I’ve always wanted to be an expert in something. Well, now I have decided to learn how to play the harmonica. Specifically, I want to learn how to play the blues on the harmonica.

I’ve always really liked the blues. I wasn’t necessarily raised around blues, but I always enjoy it when I get a chance to listen to it. And I’d really love to learn how to play all those awesome blues tunes on the harmonica.

I think learning to play the harmonica is a good choice for me. It’s a cheap instrument, portable, requires no set up (unlike the oboe, which I currently play). It’s not so common as to be unimpressive yet it’s still uncommon enough as to provide a “wow-factor” to my friends.

I actually already own a harmonica but it’s not the right kind for blues. It’s a tremolo harmonica which is more commonly used in asian music and folk songs. It’s really cool sounding but I have no idea how to play it. So tomorrow I’m planning on stopping by my local music store to pick up a harmonica and hopefully a few beginner books.

I’m hoping I’ll be able to motivate myself to with this. I’d really like to become awesome at playing the harmonica. My friends call me a redneck for wanting to learn, but I can’t help it. Blues music does make me nostalgic for the old-fashioned South.

Do you think I could learn how to do this??

Leave a Reply

