Dancing at BalletMet

So I move into Ohio State on the 18th. Today I was helping pack up some nonessential items and I had to go through my dance bag to see what I would take (since I am taking modern there). It made me realize how much I love dance and how much I do not, not want to dance while in college. None of the ballet classes offered by OSU fit into my current schedule so that only leaves the option of finding an outside studio.

The best solution I have found is to take adult classes at BalletMet. They have the biggest variety of classes at the lowest price. However, I’m still not sure the price is something I can afford. It’s something I’ll have to check on once I get in Ohio, because their website doesn’t offer much payment information.

And I hope they still allow registration. Maybe the adult classes don’t have a registration cut off like the youth division does. And I wonder if they’d allow me to do some of the basic ballet classes on pointe?? I still really want to improve my skills on pointe but they don’t offer a specific pointe class for adults. I feel like if I explained my situation they might be more lenient.

But I hope it is something I can afford and that I will have time for. I really love ballet. Even though I have also developed a love for modern, ballet will always be my first and strongest love. I don’t think I can rest until I achieve the level of skill I desire in ballet. It’s just such a beautiful and elegant art form. I desire so much to dance like that.

But, on another note, I starting to get nervous about moving off to college. I’m going to be so far away!! In a city where I know NO ONE. I’ve been waiting all summer for this day to arrive and now that it’s almost here, I want to postpone it some more….I’m sure I’ll be fine. It’s just nerve-racking. I’ve never been this far from home for this love. Even though I’m excited to go and exert my independence, part of me is still not ready to grow up.

Also, you probably don’t know, but all this summer I have been making a quilt to take with me to college. I wanted to make one 1.) because I wanted to say I accomplished something this summer and 2.) I thought it would be good to have a warm quilt during the frozen Ohio winters. Haha. But amazingly, it’s finished, and with a week to spare. Now I won’t know what to do with my days. I feel like most of the packing is done, besides the last minute stuff like toiletries.

So there. I honestly haven’t been up to much lately, which is why I haven’t posted in a while. But now that college is finally drawing near, I’ll probably be posting a lot more…at least until the newness of college wears off.

Leave a Reply

