Leaving Tomorrow

Tomorrow I leave for Ohio. It’s a bittersweet moment. I’m excited to finally be going off on my own, but at the same time I’m sad to leave everything that is familiar (especially my cat!)

It wouldn’t be so bad if I wasn’t going so far away from home. I can’t go home and visit on the weekends. If I have a problem my parents can’t be there to offer help. I’m moving to a city where I know no one. It’s intimidating.

I think it will be good for me though. I’ve been a “home-body” my entire life and going this far away from home will force me to be more social and develop my independence.

I’m hoping I didn’t bring too much stuff. It looks like a small amount piled up in the back of our SUV. My dad says it’s a lot, though it’s a lot less than what my sister brought when she went to college. I just hope I’m able to make my dorm room feel as much like home as possible.

Hopefully I won’t cry too much. And hopefully Sunday goes smoothly. Right now it’s kind of hard to comprehend what’s happening. I feel like it’s happening to somebody else. I’m sure reality will set in once my parents say their final goodbye and I’m all alone.

I’ll blog more once I’m all moved in to my dorm. Right now I’m so exhausted from packing today. It’s been a long day. Hopefully I didn’t forget anything.

But I’m really going to miss my cat.

Leave a Reply

