My First Modern Class!!

So my first modern class was actually yesterday but I didn’t get to post because I was too busy with Turkish homework. But it was pretty fun. It also kicked my butt because after a summer filled with nothing but essentially sitting on the couch – I am way out of shape!!

So I’m a little sore today. The hardest part was the warm up because it was mostly aerobic activity and that’s what’s suffered the most from my lack of activity. But the rest of the class was fairly easy-going. We did a sashay combination that, technically, I found very easy. However I realize that I still need to work on injecting myself into the dance. I watched the girl our teacher pointed out and she was much more expressive. I guess that’s something that comes with experience.

Also our teacher is from Sweden – if I remember correctly. Somewhere over there. But she speaks really easy to understand english so communication shouldn’t be a problem. I also think I may have made an acquaintance in the class. We did lots of group stuff and she was in my group.

I must tell you about the falling exercises we did though. Right now the technique emphasis is on Humphrey and she was all about falling and catching yourself. So we practiced falling forwards and backwards. I fell on my butt twice while practicing the backward falls. My teacher seemed excited though. I guess because I was “pushing-the-limit” so to speak. I just thought is was funny. And it hurt a little bit.

But I think this class will be fun. I still haven’t made it to the gym yet (which will help with modern) because I’m waiting for my body to adjust to all the walking I’ve been doing. That’s how out of shape I am. Not to mention I live on the fourth floor of our building and the stairs are killing me. Also, my homework for modern is to practice doing a handstand. Not like actually doing one, but just practicing the movement.

But to recap on my other classes, Turkish has been a pretty good, fun class. Everyone in there seems pretty nice and sociable. There is a guy who keeps talking to me after class and it’s kind of annoying because I think he might like me and I don’t like him. But anyways, my american politics class sounds like it will be a fun class though a little challenging. I’m thinking that will be my class with the most writing. And my econ class so far sounds like a repeat of everything I learned in highschool. Which hopefully means it should be easier.

And so there you have it. It’s day 3 of classes and tomorrow’s the weekend. I’m going to go to Lowe’s so I can buy some pots and dirt for our free plants we got from catholic people at the involvement fair. Oh! This post could go on forever telling y’all about everything I’ve done the past week. But I’ll stop here. Maybe I’ll catch y’all up on welcome week a little later.

Leave a Reply

