Modern Dance, BalletMet, & ECP

Modern dance is going really well, though I’ve been quite sore from it (I still haven’t made it to the gym yet). But I was quite happy today because the teacher told me that I was really good at modern, especially coming from a ballet background. I think in this case, not having devoted my entire life to ballet is good. It gives me enough knowledge to be able to catch on to combinations quickly and understand certain terminology, but ballet is not so ingrained into my body that it’s interfering with my modern dancing.

She also asked me to demonstrate a falling exercise for the class because apparently I was doing it the way she wanted it done. She wanted the class to compare my falling to another guy’s falling which the class had pointed out as being impressive. We’ve also been doing this floor combination and she let me be one of the few who got to learn a more complicated version of it. I have to work on it though for my homework. It is more difficult!! Plus I’m finding my lack of activity over the summer has resulted in a loss of my flexibility (even though my blog posts make it seem like I stretched a lot). So I need to start working on my flexibility again, especially so I can perform the floor combination to the best of my ability.

I do feel a little self-conscious in the class due to my lack of flexibility. Mainly because we have a few ex-gymnasts who are VERY flexible. I’m certainly not letting my inflexibility stop me from doing my best but I just want to feel like I’m on the same playing field as the other girls (who I consider more advanced).

Anyways, I emailed the people at BalletMet and got a reply that told me with a student ID one class is $7. I’m not exactly sure how good of a deal that is but it does allow me the option of choosing how many classes I take a week. (With the standard adult payment you only get to choose between a 1 or 5 class card). I’m still waiting to hear back about whether or not I can take a beginner class on pointe (yes I did bring my shoes with me).

But on another completely unrelated note, being that I’m part of the International Affairs Scholars program, I am required to join this program called the English Conversation Partner program. We get paired with an international student in order to help them learn about American culture and learn English better. And we in return, are supposed to learn about their culture and hopefully make a friend.

My ECP person wasn’t at the orientation meeting, so tonight I had my first meeting with her. I have to say it was very awkward. There was a lot of forced dialogue. That’s how the leaders said it would be though. They are forcing us to make friends after all. It doesn’t help that I’m not the most social person. Hopefully things get less awkward as time goes on. I don’t know if we’ll actually become friends, but hopefully we can establish some sort of relationship.

Also, she’s from Hong Kong. I was really hoping to get someone who’s Turkish so I could practice my budding Turkish skills, but seriously, everyone in the program is Asian. Oh well. I joined the Turkish Student Association and the also do something similar to that, so maybe I’ll take that up too. I really want to become fluent Turkish.

Leave a Reply

