White Water Rafting

College has been so busy!! I haven’t exactly been keeping up with this blog because of it. Of course nothing too exciting has happened, except this last weekend I went on a white water rafting trip with the IA Scholars.

It wasn’t as fun as I had hoped it would be.

Part of the reason I didn’t enjoy myself had to do with the “forced socialization” aspect of it. I didn’t get to choose who was in my cabin, I didn’t get to choose who was in my “pod” which also caused me to have very little choice over who I got to raft with. I mean, I lucked out because 2 of my friends were in my pod and we rafter together, but our other friend was stuck all by herself.

I understand why adults think “forced socialization” will work, but I hate to break it to them, it has never worked. I have experienced a lot of it in my short time, and I can tell you, it does nothing to stop cliques from forming; and in many cases, it makes them worse.

But of course, I could write a whole blog on just that topic, so moving on…
The actual rafting part wasn’t as fun as I has hoped as well. I thought it was going to be rapids the entire time. Instead it was rapids for 2 seconds, followed by several minutes of calm water paddling to the next rapids. I blame part of it on the fact that the water level was low and caused some of the higher classed rapids to be less dangerous and exciting.

I also didn’t get soaked the way I thought I was. I showed up in full rain gear, waterproof everything – expecting to get drenched. I didn’t. My arm got wet twice I think. granted I did have water go down my pants several times, but I still didn’t get soaked. I think everyone hyped up the experience way too much.

I mean, don’t get me wrong. I didn’t hate the trip. It was enjoyable. It just wasn’t what I expected.

One reason I am glad I went though, is that fact that West Virginia reminds me slightly or Georgia, and it curbed my homesickness for my home state. It was nice to hear some people with Southern-ish accents!!

Being out on the river though made me miss the marshes off the coast of Georgia a lot. I don’t get to go there often, but man I love the marshes!! And it was surprising to me to think they don’t have to worry about alligators in West Virginia. I kept expecting to see one, but obviously I never did.

But it was an experience. And it’s not like it cost me and arm and a leg to go. At least now I can say I’ve been white water rafting. I think in the future though, I’d much rather go kayaking or canoeing, or even rock climbing.

Anyways, an update on the rest of college life:
All of my classes are going pretty well. I’m slowly getting the hang of Turkish and we’re starting to learn more complex sentences. I really latched on to the Turkish numbers though. For some reason their numbering system really makes sense to me.

Modern dance is also going well. We’ve been slowly adding on more complicated movements to basic phrases we already learned. I told y’all I was one of the “advanced” dancers right?? So I think I’m progressing quite nicely. I now have to decide though if I want to continue to take modern dance classes in the upcoming quarters. I’m on the fence. Part of me feels like I won’t have room for it on my schedule with trying to get all my GECs and major & minor prerequisites in. But part of me also feels like I need a class which encourages physical activity. I still haven’t managed to motivate myself enough to go to the gym. I’m getting so out of shape.

And Econ and Political Science are going the same. I’m having difficulty staying awake in my Econ lecture – it’s so boring!! Luckily, most of what she is teaching I can understand pretty well from reading the book. We have our first midterm next Monday. In Political Science I had to give a debate. I think my group did really well, though I can’t be sure because she still hasn’t put our grades up yet.

So that’s how college is now. Exciting isn’t it??

**On a side note, this is my 100th post.

Leave a Reply

